England Cricket: A history

England Cricket: A history

If you’re a cricket fan, chances are that you have seen plenty of the England cricket team; despite the fact that you might have seen plenty of them in recent times, you might not know much about the history of the legendary team.

With our concise history of England cricket, you’re certain to develop a basic understanding of the history of the England cricket team.

England Cricket: A brief background

The England cricket team presents the best players from England and Wales to the rest of the international cricket world. Until 1992, Scotland were also represented by the England team.

Since 1 January 1997, it has been governed by the England and Wales Cricket Board, which is also known as ECB; previously, the team was governed by Marylebone Cricket Club, known as the abbreviated MCC, from 1903 until the end of 1996.

Statistically correct as of 18 Feb 2018, England have played just fewer than 1000 Test matches; specifically, they have taken part in 995 Test matches. Of the Test matches that they have played, they have won 356, lost 295, and drawn 344.

The England cricket team has won the ashes on 32 occasions, which is one less than the number that Australia have won.

As of 18 February 2018, England are ranked fifth in Tests, third in ODIs and sixth in T20Is by the ICC.

Since the England cricket team played their first ever Test match in 1877, a lot has happened. Here’s our England cricket history guide.

England Cricket: 1880s – 1930s

The 1880s: In 1882, England lost their first home series 1-0. This was obviously a big disappointment for the England team, and the 82/83 tour was referred to as “the quest to regain the ashes” by the captain Ivo Bligh as a result.

England dominated during this period; between 1884 and 1898, England won the Ashes series 10 times.

The 1900s: With the arrival of the 20th century, there was a downturn in results for the team. This was demonstrated by the fact that England lost four of the eight Ashes series between 1900 and 1914. During this period, England also lost their first series against South Africa.

In this period, the results were a stark contrast with those of the last century. These shock results meant that the team had to adapt.

England Cricket: 1980s – 2000s

1980s/90s: After the exit of the influential and successful Mike Brearley, the England team lost all of the potency of the prior decade, remaining unsettled throughout the 1980s. Still remembered as a low point for the international team, the team very rarely posed a challenge to good opposition throughout the decade. A most notable disappointment was the fact that the team did not score a home Test victory (other than against a weak Sri Lanka team) between September 1985 and July 1990.

The team ended up going through a significant number of skippers in the decade, with none able to tie down the role for a lengthy period of time. This was due to the fact that all had poor form whilst they were in charge of the team.

Moving into the 1990s, there was only a small improvement in the form of the team. Despite the team improving their mentality and overall discipline, the changes were only lightly noticeable.

The 2000s: In the early 2000s, there was a noticeable upturn in form for the first time in two decades. England thrashed the West Indies 3-1 and beat both Pakistan and Sri Lanka in the winter. The team even avoided a significant beating by Australia, which was the expected result at the time.

The change didn’t last long; by 2003, the team had endured another disastrous Ashes defeat and lost in the first round on the World Cup. This meant that the captain, Hussain, resigned.